Author Topic: What to grow?  (Read 2640 times)

Yellow Petals

What to grow?
« on: December 30, 2005, 23:09:25 »
Well, I thought I might try growing some edibles at the back of my garden this year.
Nothing fancy, it's only a small garden and ..... I've never ever grown edibles before.

Here are my questions.  The soil is quite clay laden, what do I have to do to prepare and when should I start?

My back garden only gets the sun for not quite half a day, so what would be best to try? 

What can be grown in pots (and I'm a newbie to this so don't say everything!) in small amounts without too much Krypton Factor effort (I've seen those runner bean frames in The Gallery!)

Ok, that will do for starters, thank you.

Mrs Ava

• Hectare
Re: What to grow?
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2005, 23:18:51 »
You are going to be bombarded with advice YP!  ;D  In pots, a tomato plant - you can buy small plants in spring, put them in a nice big pot in a sunny spot with a bamboo, and voila!  Could do the same with a sweet pepper or chilli plant.  Again, you can buy these already growing in March and April.  Salads are easy, and quick to reward and they won't mind a dappled shade type area.  In fact, I grow my lettuce in the shade of other plants, or in the shadey patch of the plot as they are less likely to bolt.  I lean towards the cut and come again types as you aren't left with a huge lettuce to scoff.  Number one son grew a lovely cucumber plant in a pot on our deck this summer - shame he doesn't eat them!

As for the soil.....I am no expert at all, and I garden on the same lovely Essex clay as you do, so if is incredibly fertile!  I just incorporate compost and rotted manure as I go along really.  It will be things like carrots and parsnips that won't be thrilled with rough clay, but if you aren't planning for them I wouldn't be overly worried.........

She now ducks as the professional advice comes in......

redimp

• Hectare
  • Colonia Domitiana Lindensium, Flavia Caesariensis