Author Topic: Help Please - have notice to show that my allotment is being culitvated or else!  (Read 6217 times)

BusyBee

Hi there,
I was lucky enough to get an allotment late last year and cleared it ready for the winter. But with the snow etc I haven't been up there much since christmas. I've now received a letter saying that I have 28 days to "cultivate" my plot or I will lose it  :'(.
I want to show that I am serious but I am a complete novice and would really appreciate some tips on what I can do this weekend to "make a mark". I'd like to actually plant something so that they can see that I am genuinely committed to making a success of it.
I'd like to put up a little shed aswell - any tips on a good supplier also gratefully received.
Many thanks

grotbag

• Hectare
  • granddaughter(miya) in Christchurch,Dorset
Hi and welcome to this site.Noticed that b&q have a small shed for £95 ,as for making a show do some  fresh digging for them to see..

manicscousers

• Hectare
  • www.golborne-allotments.co.uk
Hiya, welcome to a4a  ;D
have you got anything to cover some ground with, dig a few beds over and get some onions and shallots in, mark out some paths and cover them, just to show willing  ;D
also, talk to people and let them know you are making plans about what to plant, enthusiasm makes a difference

tonybloke

• Hectare
  • Gorleston 0n sea, Norfolk
If, as you claim, you cleared it last year, there shouldn't be much to do? ;D
why not get someone near you to give some advice?
look here http://www.thegardenersalmanac.co.uk/Indexes/index.htm
or here http://downtheplot.com/index.php
both good sites for beginners!! ;D ;D ;D
You couldn't make it up!

glosterwomble

• Hectare
  • Gloucester - The South West
    • Fork it...a Gloucester allotment
Confusing!! I thought you were Tee Gee who is an expert member on here! Welcome to the site, you may get confused for the original Tee Gee.