Author Topic: when do I take the lid off?  (Read 1141 times)

grawrc

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Edinburgh
when do I take the lid off?
« on: January 10, 2009, 11:52:39 »
I recently invested in some root trainers and started off a variety of seeds  on 4th January for later transfer to prewarmed cloches and unheated greenhouse. They have now all germinated so, mindful of Debster's post about damping off, what I wondered was when I should take the plastic lid off and how? By this I mea: do I just remove the lids or do I do it for increasingly longer periods every day?

I've never used any sort of propagator before, but I must say I'm impressed by how fast and successful germination has been. The seeds are - kohl rabi, cauliflower, onion, Lamb's lettuce and sweet peas.

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
Re: when do I take the lid off?
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2009, 13:42:48 »
I wondered was when I should take the plastic lid off and how?

A simple enough question but not so easy to answer simply because there could many influencing factors as to when. e.g. the light and temperature range you have when you do remove it.

I guess you know that you now want to harden off the seedlings (aclimatise)

To do this you have got to gradually reduce the temperature to that that  your seedlings will ultimately require and what with the vagaries of the UK weather and not knowing the facilities you have to do this, makes it difficult for me to be more precise!

In your case it has been made reasonably easily because of the plants involved i.e. kohl rabi, cauliflower, onion, Lamb's lettuce and sweet peas which are all relatively hardy!

Having said that; I personally think you have been a mite too early apart from the sweet peas and onions, in sowing them, particularly in your neck of the woods.