Author Topic: OVER WINTERING CHILLI PLANTS  (Read 5982 times)

Duke Ellington

• Hectare
OVER WINTERING CHILLI PLANTS
« on: October 09, 2009, 12:02:59 »
This is my first year of having a greenhouse and have noticed that my chilli plants have started to drop their leaves. Is it too cold for them already? Should I bring the two I want to overwinter indoors now ?

Duke
dont be fooled by the name I am a Lady!! :-*

Stevens706

• Acre
Re: OVER WINTERING CHILLI PLANTS
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2009, 12:11:13 »
The simple answer is Yes, most people cut the plant back and hope it will re-grow in the spring or even earlier

Biscombe

• Hectare
  • Spanish Gardening In Orgiva
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2009, 12:41:03 »
Depends what variety but it may just keep going in a greenhouse. If it not give it a rest, hack it back, trim the roots and repot into a smaller pot (space is a premium!) then most of them will sprout next season when they are ready! You'll get a head start!

Duke Ellington

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2009, 13:52:12 »
Having read my previous post I should make it clear that the chillies have been growing in the greenhouse all summer and have just started to drop their leaves. Should I cut them back and bring them into the house now ? or can they survive the winter in an unheated greenhouse!

Duke
dont be fooled by the name I am a Lady!! :-*

Squash64

• Hectare
    • Walsall Road Allotments
« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2009, 13:55:41 »
Some of mine in the polytunnel are losing their leaves too.  I think the Cayenne and Chilliegi Piccante are the worst.  My Scotch Bonnet look fantastic at the moment.  I'm assuming it's only the ones which lose their leaves that are cut back and the ones like SB keep growing?
Betty
Walsall Road Allotments
Birmingham

allotment website:-
www.growit.btck.co.uk

Barnowl

• Hectare
  • getting back to my roots [SW London]
« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2009, 12:05:47 »