Author Topic: Where to start?  (Read 2459 times)

Jayne

Where to start?
« on: December 05, 2008, 14:47:10 »
Hello everyone, I am brand new to allotments and this site.  I have read lots on here and all seems great.  I've just taken on a neglected plot that needs digging over, it is riddled with bindweed which I  am not loving!!!  The cheeky stuff is even starting to stick out of the ground!!!  >:(  I dig and dig and pick it out and just as I think I am getting to the root (which I am frightened will be like Jabba the Hut) I hear a darn 'snap' and realise I must dig more  :)

I just wondered what were the most important things you learnt when you started?  Not just about bindweed (which I've read up on on this site), but about anything to do with allotments.  What advice or thoughts can you offer a newby

Thanks in advance
Jayne

BAK

• Wiki Editor
  • Hectare
    • BK - This and That
Re: Where to start?
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2008, 14:53:29 »
Jayne,

if you have not done so already click on wiki at the top of the page and then click on For Newbies to find useful links to sites that are run by some of the A4A members.

elvis2003

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2008, 15:02:07 »
welcome to the site jayne,and to the wonderful world of allotmenteering.sounds like youve made a cracking start already.my best advice would be to carry on digging them weeds out and get it all nice and clear ready for next years planting.and buy yourself a little gas stove for essential tea making in your shed.plenty of others will be along to give more advice im sure,in the meantime enjoy enjoy!good luck with it
rach
x
when the going gets tough,the tough go digging

Duke Ellington

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2008, 15:10:01 »
Like you we started with a neglected and extremely weed covered plot containing bindweed and couch grass, nettles and comfrey growing everywhere!