Author Topic: Bushy Tomato plants  (Read 1774 times)

simhop

• Quarter Acre
Bushy Tomato plants
« on: August 09, 2004, 20:46:28 »
It is my first try at growing tomatoes and i was ever so excited to see that many of the flowers are at last now turning into tomatoes - the plants are really bushy with many leaves, alot of the tomatoes seem to be hiden from the sun. Isn't it the sun that helps to ripen them? I think I read a post by EJ on another thread that she took away some leaves from the plants - did I totally misunderstand what she said or is this the right thing to do?- how do I know what leaves and how many to take away?
thanks in advance
simon

Mrs Ava

• Hectare
Re:Bushy Tomato plants
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2004, 22:32:30 »
Oooer, okay, don't shoot me if what I tell you is totally wrong, but I grow my toms as cordons, so only one main stem, I pinch out all side shoots so all the plants energy can go into producing fruit, and not lots of branches and leaves.  I believe our learned John Miller told us a while back that the lower leaves stop working efficiently, so they can be removed allowing more energy upwards.  Also, if there are masses of leaves, there can be poor air circulation, so the risk of disease in the still air, plus, yes, less light, and less heat due to shading, so what I have done, please don't shout everyone if it is wrong, is remove all the lower leaves up to the first truss of fruit, then after that, just trim some off if they are really causing dense shade.  I guess, if I had more room in the greenhouse I wouldn't have to do this, but as I have lots and lots of plants all crammed in a small space, they are all shading each other, so it was more necessity.  I should imagine I have reduced the leaves by 50% per plant - hopefully leaving enough for photosynthesis to take place successfully!  Finally, my toms have all started ripening, and some of the trusses, especially the plums, are huge with 12 or more toms on one truss!!!

tim

• Hectare