Author Topic: british garden writer discovers age old american tomato growing advice  (Read 7095 times)

plainleaf

• Hectare
thought point this great revelation to you all since i have been preaching this advice for several years.
it has been discovered by a contributor to the British garden magazine."Grow Your Own Magazine" that none suckered tomato plants produce more tomatoes.
but poor me, I knew this all along now some British(no offense to those of you who are British  )person thinks they discovered something well known in USA for many years.
thought I should point this out to you all so you  all now know the truth.

I can wait till this person learns the critical mass ripening rule that certain varieties have.
In other worded they need to produce certain number green fruit before they start produce ripe fruit.

Edited to remove link to another  forum -
Edited to remove reference to a member on another forum
« Last Edit: October 13, 2011, 19:32:42 by ceres »

antipodes

• Hectare
  • W. France, 5m x 20m (900 ft2)
    • My allotment blog
I don't understand what a non suckered plant is?

SO if there is a critical mass, does that mean that by taking off some early green fruit, the others will ripen more?
2012 - Snow in February, non-stop rain till July. Blight and rot are rife. Thieving voles cause strife. But first runner beans and lots of greens. Follow an English allotment in urban France: http://roos-and-camembert.blogspot.com

plainleaf

• Hectare
antipodes a "non suckered plant" is tomato plant that has not had it's suckers
 removed.

critical mass means the same as it means in physics you need a certain amount of the thing in question before the reaction you you want happens.
In other words you might need 50 green tomato on the plant before any of the tomatoes start to ripen.

aj

• Hectare
Aw, bless you Plainleaf/Grid Gardener.

I think you have misinterpreted the point of the thread to which you refer [or did refer until it was removed] however.