Author Topic: Best / worst tips ever  (Read 6021 times)

VegBob

• Not So New ...
Best / worst tips ever
« on: May 22, 2011, 12:27:10 »
I have been growing veg for over 50 years and must have heard almost every tip going. What are the best and worst tips you have ever been given?
Bob

lewic

• Hectare
Re: Best / worst tips ever
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2011, 12:49:01 »
My plot-share mate tells me the rhubarb season ends in May and you need to pick it before then or it gets poisonous. Get back from a few days away and the plant has been stripped almost bare!

caroline7758

• Hectare
  • Berwick-upon-Tweed
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2011, 13:40:13 »
Best tip- grow comfrey!

Worst tip (didn't take it up)- "You want to rotavate- that'll get rid of the weeds". Not the couch and the bindweed it wouldn't !

blackcountrysteve

• Quarter Acre
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2011, 15:50:43 »
Bob, with that amount of experience you ought to write a column on here
I find it fascinating to listen to the old uns !! you can read as many books as you like
but blokes like yourself have much more knowledge.

Best tip ive been given is get your soil right to stand a good chance of growing succesfuly

what tips would you give the young generation bob ?

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2011, 16:02:44 »
get your soil right

As Arthur Billet would say..........the secret is in the soil!

And I agree!.... get that right and your three parts on the way to success!

( This year I haven't and I don't  I know about it ?........not half! )

Another one is;

If you find something/method/variety that works for you stick with it till you find a better one.

To find better ones; experiment with about 10-15% of your stock and grow the other  90 odd per cent with bankers, i.e. those that you know work for you!

This way you get the best of both worlds!

The saying 'don't put all your eggs in one basket' comes to mind here!

pigeonseed