Author Topic: Growing Potatoes in Containers - photos included  (Read 73085 times)

Chris Graham

• Hectare
  • Stirling, Scotland
    • Backyard
Re: Growing Potatoes in Containers - photos included
« Reply #60 on: March 24, 2009, 13:33:52 »
Hi everyone,

I have been growing potatoes in pots for around 3 years now and always had a great harvest.

The free black buckets you get from superstore (ones left over from flower displays) are excellent for earlies, ie Swift and Rocket.  These can be started off very early if you have a greenhouse to store them in.

I have around 20 black buckets with Swift.  One seed potato per bucket.

For main crops I use the large pots you can buy at Poundstrechers, they only cost £3.99 and hold, i think 75L of compost. Usually plant 4 seed potatoes per pot. 

Most of my main crop potatoes are planted in the veg garden but pots are great and I find work very very well.

Heres a picture from last year...

You can see in this picture from last year the larger pots

There were 6 seed potatoes in this pot (recycle pot from the council)

BTW the above image was the harvest from the recycle box not one black bucket.

Well hope this helps, get planting NOW!

;)
« Last Edit: March 24, 2009, 13:36:02 by ChrisG »

Astronomy, Veggies & Beer

meg_gordon

• Half Acre
  • Ayr
« Reply #61 on: March 24, 2009, 18:23:31 »
This is the fourth year I have grown potatoes in pots and have had mixed success.  Last year I got blight in the main crop I was growing, so had to harvest earlier than I would have like to - but apart from that I have tried :

Epicures - great result - roughly 5 pounds per seed potato
Anya - good result - again about 4 or 5 pounds per seed potato
Wilja - best result out of all the potatoes I have grown - 6 pounds per seed potato
King Edwards - this was last year and I had to harvest early because of blight but got a couple of pounds per seed