Author Topic: My lottie site  (Read 1117 times)

caseylee

• Hectare
My lottie site
« on: April 20, 2008, 08:58:56 »
I am starting to get worried that I will not be able to plant on my lottie this year.  My oh and I have been digging it over for a few months now, but its still in large clumps of soil, and never seems to dry out.  Will it dry out and then will I be able to rake it over and start planting.  Has anyone got any tips on how to hurry this along, the weather in swindon is terrible at the moment and the ground is constantly wet, so when its wet the ground goes like clay, but the minute it dries out abit it gorgeous.
I have done one side of the lottie with small raised beds for my courgettes to go in, I want to repot my broad beans soon, can these grow on clay ground.  My raised beds are half full of soil then fresh horse manure with a cover over them and have been left there for about 4 weeks now.  Any help would be appriciated

simon404

• Hectare
    • Simon's Allotment
Re: My lottie site
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2008, 10:05:06 »
With clay soil you have to work it in the period between it being too wet or too dry - when it's gorgeous, as you say. You should use well-roted manure, not fresh - is it straw-based? Some photos would help for a better answer.

markyb23

• Half Acre
  • Bloke from Stoke
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2008, 11:32:35 »
I would try not to worry too much Caseylee. At the end of the day you've got to do what you can, when you can. I've taken on an extra plot this year and i'm still way behind with my digging. I've got stuff queueing up to be put in. i think it's the time of year when many people, myself included, get just a little bit panicky about trying to get everything in, on time.