Author Topic: Carrots  (Read 7375 times)

emmy1978

• Hectare
  • It's good to be in my gardening shoes again!
Re: Carrots
« Reply #40 on: April 23, 2007, 12:04:12 »
I am growing a heritage white carrot this year - but it's my first attempt at carrots, so I'm a bit worried because I'm usually a failure with something for the first time...

That made me go aaah! Bet you don't fail, bet you grow beautiful carrits free from fly!  8)
Don't throw paper away. There is no away.

miniroots

• Half Acre
  • Beautiful bolting
    • Random allotment pictures
« Reply #41 on: April 23, 2007, 13:06:18 »
Thanks for the encouragement.  I will certainly try my best...

Cuke

• Half Acre
  • Abbeymead, Gloucester
    • Growing Our Own
« Reply #42 on: April 23, 2007, 13:54:26 »
lol I think I'm living in a beginners dream world then... I planted two rows of Early Nates 2 yesterday in well dug but quite clayey soil. Made a couple of inch deep drills, sowed seeds thinly in them and then sprinkled some of the ocntents of a spare grow bag over them to cover....

I assumed they'll grow ok, I didn't know there was such a scinece to carrots.... lol ah well we'll see... :)

Although I do plan on surrounding them with something to try and disuade the carrot fly when they've come through... :)
Our little corner of the blogging world http://www.growingourown.co.uk

cornykev

• Hectare
  • Sunny Cheshunt just outside North London
« Reply #43 on: April 23, 2007, 15:05:31 »
I interplanted carrots with onions about six and four weeks ago the first ones are coming along nicely, I dug out a very small trench, filled with potting compost, made a drill, sprinkled seeds and covered with compost.  ;D ;D ;D
MAY THE CORN BE WITH YOU.

davyw1

• Hectare
  • I love My Country
« Reply #44 on: April 23, 2007, 17:59:04 »
Thanks Marymary, guess I could just try a couple, see how they go.