Author Topic: What seeds/seedlings need protecting from birds/rabbits?  (Read 5293 times)

Potato

Hello everyone, I am new to growing vegetables, please could anyone tell me what seeds/seedlings (vegetables that is) need protecting from birds/rabbits?  I was planning on sowing some radishes and carrots in the next couple of weeks and intend to plant out onions, garlic and shallots sometime this weekend.  Many thanks

supersprout

• Hectare
  • mulch mad!
Re: What seeds/seedlings need protecting from birds/rabbits?
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2006, 08:10:51 »
Onion sets can be attractive to birds when they first sprout, because they remind them of little worms. Once the birds discover they've pulled up an allium :o >:( they leave it, so often the uprooted bulb can be replanted. Or cover with mesh til the plants grow a little bigger, then the birds can see they are onions and don't try to pull them out.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2006, 08:16:41 by supersprout »

derbex

• Hectare
  • I've come about the reaping
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2006, 11:41:59 »
If they're in a greenhouse just shut the door  ::)

Beyond that if you've got rabbits I'd fence your plot -they'll eat anything. Then you just have to worry about the blasted phaesant eating the onion tops. Rabbits will nibble onions to find out they don't like them.

With the birds I found the CD/plastic strip approach reasonably effective.

Alimo

• Acre
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2006, 15:55:03 »
Rabbits eat everying and anything - I've learned from experience  :-\  So a fence totally surrounding your veggie patch is a must.  If you don't you'll just be so frustrated at losing your crops to the little bugg...... darlings!

I don't have problems with birds - well not up to now. 

Alison

grawrc

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Edinburgh
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2006, 17:33:22 »
The fence needs to go a good few inches underground too and the wire mesh truned over . Otherwise they just burrow their way through.

Columbus