Author Topic: Manure vs Compost  (Read 1649 times)

sweetbelle

• Not So New ...
Manure vs Compost
« on: January 12, 2006, 09:42:44 »
I am new to allotmenteering and my soil is quite heavy. Is it best to incorporate manure or compost? I've been told sand would also be helpful but in what quantities?

Help!

Jesse

• Hectare
    • News2Share
Re: Manure vs Compost
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2006, 10:00:16 »
If you have heavy soil then get your hands on as much compost or well rotted manure as you can. I add a barrow load of horse manure to roughly each 1-2 square metres of ground, the amount you want to add depends how heavy your soil is. Sand will also help to lighten it but is not absolutely necessary if you can dig in lots of manure. There will be some crops you don't want too rich a soil for (like carrots) and others that like a very rich soil (like pumpkins) so have an idea of where everything is going to grow this year before you start.
Green fingers are the extension of a verdant heart - Russell Page

http://www.news2share.co.uk

Derekthefox

• read only
  • Hectare
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2006, 10:03:25 »
If your soil is heavy then it may be improved by adding humus, simple rotted organic matter which will break the soil and make it more friable, thus easier to work with. Either manure or compost will also add nutrients, manure being more concentrated. If you intend to add manure, it should be allowed to stand, or 'rest' for a few months before exposure to plants, as otherwise it can be too strong and burn the plants. A thin covering over the surface should be enough to improve the soil.

I cannot comment on the sand issue.

Svea

• Hectare
  • ...getting the hang of things...
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2006, 10:58:48 »
heavy soil (clay i presume?) is not all bad. true, it's difficult to dig and sometimes you have clay bricks that just wont break up. but despair not!