Author Topic: wher to get hens from  (Read 2868 times)

sid

• Half Acre
wher to get hens from
« on: November 23, 2006, 19:34:02 »
can any one help i am new to keeping hens and dont know wher to start to look for them i am from doncaster south yorksher also can you keep ducks in the same pen as the chucks thanks

OliveOil

• Hectare
  • Lincs
    • Phoenix Traders Forum
Re: wher to get hens from
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2006, 20:00:03 »
Yes you can keep duck and hens together but remember ducks MUST have water for splashing/swimming in which will need cleaning out regularly!

depends what hens you want... hybrids are unavailable until feb/march time now which is a bugger as i am trying to get some desperately... you could get non hybrids easily enough.#

try pekinbantams.com and practical poultry forums... lots for sale on there

Tensing

• Not So New ...
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2006, 00:15:17 »
Sid

I'm not to far from you, just up the road in West Yorkshire. We have Silkie Bantams, Ducks, Quail and a goose, and apart from the quail they all live together, with seperate sleeping accomadation. I put a seperate drinker in the hen house for the bantams as the ducks do like to make the main drinkers very dirty. My ducks have a small pond, but this is not essential, but the will need a bucket or a baby bath or something to wash the heads in.

Depending on what you are after, there is a chap over at Hatfield he makes Poultry Houses and also acts as an agent for Hybreds, His firm is called Fishers Woodcraft http://www.fisherswoodcraft.co.uk/

If you know what to look for with birds or you have a friend that does, then Selby Auction is good for both Hens and ducks, but I wouldn't recommend this if you are new to poultry keeping.

Or theres Storrs Poultry over near Barnsley, they are good and ver helpful. http://www.storrspoultry.co.uk/

Otherwise Yeller  paper normally has birds for sale.

Good luck

sid

• Half Acre
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2006, 19:13:10 »