Author Topic: Kaffir Lime Tree - Repotting question  (Read 2900 times)

BarriedaleNick

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Cartaxo, Portugal
    • Barriedale Allotments
Kaffir Lime Tree - Repotting question
« on: April 22, 2011, 09:25:41 »
I was given a kaffir lime tree - the leaves are used in Thai cooking although the fruit can be eaten as well.
It needs repotting and I was just wondering if I need any special compost.
It says to treat as any citrus but I have no knowledge in this area at all.
I was going for a sand/compost mix for drainage - would that be right???

Cheers..
Moved to Portugal - ain't going back!

Vinlander

• Hectare
  • North London - heavy but fertile clay
Re: Kaffir Lime Tree - Repotting question
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2011, 23:06:02 »
Sand doesn't always improve drainage - it can actually fill the gaps in a peat-based compost and make it worse.

Building (bricklaying) sand is the worst, silver sand is dubious, sharp sand is much better, but even better is to sift sharp sand in a kitchen seive and discard what goes through (still useful for its original purpose or to level a lawn) - so you end up with fine grit.

A good rinse makes sense but don't believe scare stories about salt in sand - salt would interfere with the setting of cement so there's very good reason to keep it out of ordinary sand.

Simplest is to use 10-20% perlite or vermiculite. If extra weight isn't an issue you can buy in grit or gravel.

Other things to consider - citrus don't really have root hairs so they are much more fussy about moisture, especially in low temps - I lost 10% of my citrus every year until I started watering only via capillary matting in winter.

Don't pot on in big jumps - that would encourage fatal waterlogging in the un-colonised area. I also put vertical columns of perlite in the new soil to guarantee a drainage path - though I have no positive proof they make any difference.