General > News

Hello!

(1/5) > >>

Penny@Plot 33:
Hi All  - new member here, and I wasn't sure where to say hello! I'm in my first year as a plot holder, and my no-dig allotment is well under way in sunny (haha, sometimes!) west Wales. I found this forum whilst searching for info about Aminopyralid contamination. I am also a member of a no-dig Facebook group, and a lot of the members there seem to be having trouble again, including myself. Can I ask - the last post I could find on the matter was from 2016 - has anyone here had any issues this year? My problem has been with bags of Erin Farmyard Manure that I put down in my greenhouse, and I think at least one other bag used on the plot for some peas.

Tee Gee:
Hi Penny

Welcome to A4A

--- Quote ---has anyone here had any issues this year?
--- End quote ---

I am not sure! but I know there is something wrong with my compost and short of having it tested I won't find out if it is affected with this dreaded weedkiller!!

I put some well rotted 'horse muck' in the bottom of my rings ( I use the "ring culture" method) and all my plants are stunted, have discoloured leaves and are just pathetic!

I have thought of repotting my plants but by the time I suspected my problem, I thought it might be too late to move them, so I got to thinking at least as they are; I will get a few tomatoes and peppers.

My Cucumbers are the same height as they were when I put them in a couple of months ago and would you believe it? I have three embryo cucumbers on a plant that is less than 12" high!

Half of my 10 tomato plants are only around 2-2½ ft high and look terrible!

I gave a couple of spare plants to a neighbour and I potted them up in the same manner and these plants are touching the ceiling of his conservatory so at least I know my plants are not the problem!