Author Topic: Hello. Newbie Here  (Read 5209 times)

Golach

• Half Acre
Hello. Newbie Here
« on: September 05, 2013, 19:09:26 »
Hello everyone.  I just took over an allotment last Friday.  This is the first day since I got it that I haven't been down - and I feel really guilty.

The allotment is 125 sq m of...4ft+ high grass and weeds so I've been attacking it with a hand sickle.  Going to get something better tomorrow or Saturday - like a scythe or scythette.

So far, with the hand sickle I've managed to hack down about 1/5th of the allotment and my son has made a start on digging it up.  It's beginning to look like an allotment - at least part of it anyway LOL.

Very interesting to read some of the posts about allotment holders not looking after their allotments.  My neighbour on one side is like this.  Other allotment holders have complained about the state his allotment is in to our Council but he seems to get away with it by saying he's trying to attract bumblebees.  I have seen nothing that would attract bumblebees at all.  Bumblebees are favourites of mine and I'm just waiting for a delivery of Allium bulbs to attract them next year and I'm also growing Lavendar plants in the greenhouse.

I know it is very hard work, especially clearing an overgrown allotment but already I love mine and can envisage it next season.  It'll be a lot better than it is now and hopefully, tidy and productive by then.

I love growing things and have a greenhouse at home which is full of tomatoes and sweet peppers at the moment.

I have joined our allotment association and will be attending their meetings.  I'm sure I'll learn a lot there.  The allotment holders I have spoken to so far have been very friendly and, indeed, I came home the other night with potatoes, a cabbage and a beetroot from one of them.  I gave him some of my pepper plants as a thank you.

Scottish members will recognise my forum name - Golach.  It's a Scots name for an earwig!

OllieC

• Global Moderator