Author Topic: allotment wildlife survey  (Read 4263 times)

markp

• Not So New ...
allotment wildlife survey
« on: March 12, 2005, 14:21:55 »
Hi,

I'm new to this darn forum but was wondering if any fellow allotmenteers had done, or were considering doing, a wildlife survey on their plots. I'm talking about a consistent monitoring of wild/unplanted flora, and fauna, that appears on or near their plots over a set period of time, from weekends to years. If anyone has done so, or is thinking of doing so, I'd love it if they contacted me at my email address. I'm a BSc conservation student and plot-holder so I can promise that your findings will be taken seriously. This for a few reasons: one, because I want to see if there's enough material for a magazine article in Organic Gardening magazine; two, because I'm wondering if it's possible to start an annual national 'Allotment Wildlife Week' which will draw attention to the wildlife value of our allotments; and thirdly, and most selfishly, because it may help me with a dissertation!! If you're at all interested in the second reason - an Allotment Wildlife Week, and want to make some contribution to wildlife conservation in the UK,  please get in touch anyway. The wildlife value of domestic gardens is already pretty well recorded; that of allotments is not and it's about time that changed, for one reason because it places a higher value on allotments in the planning system and may prevent more allotments from being built on...

As I say, please get in touch on the forum or to me personally if you can help or just want to make observations. Thanks. Mark Patterson     

simon404

• Hectare
    • Simon's Allotment
Re: allotment wildlife survey
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2005, 15:19:15 »
Good to see someone's doing this. One of our members did a wildlife survey on our site last year. I'll see if I can dig out the results and email them to you.

wardy

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2005, 15:32:24 »