Author Topic: Onion rot  (Read 5700 times)

busy_lizzie

• Hectare
  • Izzy wizzy lets get busy! Whitley Bay, Tyne & Wear
Onion rot
« on: July 05, 2013, 19:29:59 »
Have just been over to my plot, and noticed that two rows of my onions had very yellow bottom leaves. Pulled some up to see the root was practically not existant and there was a slight white fungus looking material on them. Is this onion rot? it is my first year growing onions as my husband was the onion expert, and as many of you will know he died in February, so I thought I would carry on myself. We are on a four year rotation with our vegetables, so I would be disappointed if it is onion rot. I have pulled the two rows up that are affected, but the rest look okay. Can anyone give me some advice? I had 90 sturon and about 30 red onions. Thanks if you can  help. busy_lizzie
live your days not count your years

RenishawPhil

• Hectare
    • Parking Ticket Appeals Service
Re: Onion rot
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2013, 19:35:31 »
Sounds like onion rot to me :( all you can do is give them a miss for a while on that patch

steve1967

• Half Acre
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2013, 19:53:25 »
Hi Lizzie

This does sound like white rot. I have the same problem on my plot. This year hasn't been as bad due to the dry weather. I do rotate as you do. But its similar to clubroot once it gets a hold. Will take several years to go. I keep perservering and planting far more than I need in the hope I get a reasonable crop. This year from my Japenese onions I have lost 4 to white rot as opposed to last year where I lost 75% of the crop. So far with my spring crop I have noticed half a dozen with signs of rot. I have left them in place in the hope that the organism responsible will stay with that onion rather than spread.

davyw1

• Hectare
  • I love My Country
« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2013, 20:43:57 »