Author Topic: Squash spacing  (Read 1859 times)

Uncle_Filthster

• Half Acre
Squash spacing
« on: July 07, 2011, 21:55:57 »
It's my first time growing squashes other than bog standard bush courgettes this year.  I have Uchiki Kuri, harrier, hunter and hawk butternuts and blue moon pumpkin.

The kuri and butternuts are at about 3 to 4 feet spacing planted through holes in weed control for a bit extra warmth.  Is this ok?  I intended to train them in a spiral somehow, any tips on that method?

The blue moon pumpkin is spaced about 8 feet apart (got a wigwam of beans between) as I expected them to romp away into huge plants but they are just sitting there bout 8" tall, hardly growing but developing flower buds.  One had a male flower out today.  A bit disappointing so far  :(

RenishawPhil

• Hectare
    • Parking Ticket Appeals Service
Re: Squash spacing
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2011, 22:04:57 »
It's my first time growing squashes other than bog standard bush courgettes this year.  I have Uchiki Kuri, harrier, hunter and hawk butternuts and blue moon pumpkin.

The kuri and butternuts are at about 3 to 4 feet spacing planted through holes in weed control for a bit extra warmth.  Is this ok?  I intended to train them in a spiral somehow, any tips on that method?

The blue moon pumpkin is spaced about 8 feet apart (got a wigwam of beans between) as I expected them to romp away into huge plants but they are just sitting there bout 8" tall, hardly growing but developing flower buds.  One had a male flower out today.  A bit disappointing so far  :(

Seems a common theme!:(

• Hectare
  • And all that ..... in Hastings
    • Promenade Plantings
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2011, 07:04:54 »
it all sounds ok to me Uncle. Patience I think is needed now, that and some warmth  :)

I haven't tried growing them in a spiral, yet, was going to try it this year and see how it worked. I know one or two peeps on here do so, so hopefully they will be along shortly  :)

antipodes

• Hectare