Author Topic: Growing in tyres  (Read 10088 times)

VegBob

• Not So New ...
Growing in tyres
« on: May 20, 2011, 10:19:18 »
I have been offered some old lorry tyres which I estimate will be about 4ft across when one of the walls is removed by about 1ft deep. Although I have heard of them being used I have never had occasion to try them myself. Is it best to simply treat them as raised beds or are there any pitfalls? I would appreciate some feedback. Thanks, in anticipation. Bob.
Bob

hightower

• Not So New ...
    • Slim Jim's Allotment
Re: Growing in tyres
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2011, 10:40:49 »
I'm a noob at this, but I read somewhere (sorry, can't remember where) to grow potatoes in them. Start with one tyre, and then when the shoots show stack another on top and fill. When the shoots show stack another etc until you have a 4 or 5 foot tyre wall full of potatoes.

Don't know how well this works though.

Bugloss2009

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2011, 11:05:23 »
bob flowerdew used to recommend growing potatoes in tyres as hightower says, but I think it's not thought a good idea, because of cadmium and lead leaching out of the tyres. It's a small risk, but it's not zero...........

Ellen K

• Hectare
  • Loughborough, Leicestershire
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2011, 11:11:10 »
On some allotment sites, tyres are banned because of the cost of disposal.  And so of course garages will be only too glad to give them away.  My neighbour has herbs and fruit bushes in his and uses them to hold down black plastic.  But they get hot in the sun and dry out so things don't always do well in them.  I think they are an eyesore and would recommend you try something else.  Anything else, actually.  Sorry.

Vinlander

• Hectare
  • North London - heavy but fertile clay
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2011, 13:31:24 »
It's a small risk, but it's not zero...........

Like getting out of bed?

Being alive carries a non-zero risk of immediate unexpected death.