Author Topic: giant pkn time again  (Read 34356 times)

Mark S

• Quarter Acre
Re: giant pkn time again
« Reply #120 on: August 17, 2011, 23:13:02 »
Quote from: Grandma link=topic=66844.msg699184#msg699184 date=1313511752

[b
Family and friends have put bets (50p!) on its final weight [/b] - guesses range from 68lb to 130 lb. I would just love to crack the magic 100lb barrier!

What  a brill idea!!! As a newbie, I have succeeded in getting 3 pumpkins growing, the biggest being about the size of (dont laugh) a snooker ball.

However, based on the message above, I will take the biggest one to work, raffle a guess the  weight, and the proceeds go to whaever charity is decided upon, prob either a cancer or heart charity.

pete JB

• Half Acre
« Reply #121 on: August 19, 2011, 16:54:52 »
Hiya Mal, sorry it`s taken a while to reply.
My tunnel is approx 40 x 20 or 800 Sq feet. I only have 1 kin in there and a pollinator which I pull when it`s done. It`s got 5 hoops and 2 wooden end sections. The cover is attached to the wooden rails at the bottom and not trenched.
I got it for 400 quid (if memory serves) and it`s a sturdy beast, got me through 3 winters anyway.

On another note. I lifted my carrots today. Managed to get a couple of sets for tomorrow although I`m a complete novice at this and not really sure what I`m doing. I`m also entering a marrow (one of yours) which isnt that big. It took ages for the plant to establish and even longer for a viable female but I`m gonna stick it in and see what happens. If nothing else, I have learned loads about marrow growing this year and I`m`confident I can do better next year.
How are yours doing ?

Pete

pete JB

• Half Acre
« Reply #122 on: August 21, 2011, 14:00:24 »
Well !
The gods must be smiling on me. I managed to get 1st and 2nd place with my 2 sets of carrots. I put the 2nd set in as an afterthought because I thought they were not as good as the 1st set. But the 2nd set won ! go figure......