Author Topic: Where do I start!!!  (Read 2954 times)

sara g

• Not So New ...
Where do I start!!!
« on: August 22, 2010, 21:07:59 »
Hi All
Complete newbie to all of this, so bear with me and sorry, just move this if its in the wrong place.
I am the new secretary of a very unkempt old fashioned site, and we are hoping to do some fund raising and grant applying in the not too distant future.  We are in desperate need of a new meeting hut, storage shed/shop and toilet, for the many families with young children that are now becoming allotmenteers.  I am all for moving things forward, and the rest of the committee is backing me all the way.  We have several ideas for fundraising for next year, but I am unsure as to whether we need permission etc to go ahead with them.  We are hoping to hold a small  fete/open day, with stalls selling cakes jams etc and surplus produce, tombolas and games for the kids.  Would I need to inform the council of our intentions? and Does anybody know the ruling/regs of selling cakes eggs etc to members of the public at a fundraiser?  I am certain that we are members of NSALG, so we should have insurance through them, but I dont know what it covers, does it cover fundraising events etc?

Sorry for being a pain, but Im hoping someone can help.   :-[ :-[

grannyjanny

• PMs
  • Hectare
  • Lives in Cheshire. Light sandy soil. Loves no dig.
Re: Where do I start!!!
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2010, 21:22:48 »
Hello Sara & welcome to the site. Lots of help here for you I'm sure.
I think Squash might be the person for this one. Her site held a similar event very recently which was for a couple of charities. You'll also find recipes too to help you on your way.
Good luck.

sara g

• Not So New ...
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2010, 21:29:58 »
Thanks grannyjanny, maybe there is light at the end of the very long tunnel!!!   ;)

grannyjanny

• PMs
  • Hectare
  • Lives in Cheshire. Light sandy soil. Loves no dig.
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2010, 21:55:30 »