Author Topic: What should I ask?  (Read 1013 times)

EnglishRose

• Quarter Acre
What should I ask?
« on: July 15, 2010, 12:51:41 »
After waiting over two years for an allotment, I was thrilled to get a phone call yesterday afternoon to say that a plot had finally become available.  I can't begin to tell you how excited I am!

I've been invited to have a look at the plot next week before I agree to take it on.  Now, I'm a complete gardening novice.  I know that it's almost certainly going to involve a lot of backbreaking work at the start, regular maintenance and a few (or, in my case, a lot of) disappointing crop failures.  I've also done a bit of basic research and know that I need to find out about the facilities available at the site, limitations on the lease, the soil type/quality and what is permitted in the way of weed disposal (bonfires, skips or....?).  But what else do I need to find out?  What should I ask the Allotment Secretary when I meet him next week?

Any advice gratefully received (especially lessons you've learnt the hard way or questions you wished you'd asked before getting started) as I really am completely clueless at the moment....

Fork

• Hectare
  • Amber valley,Derbyshire
Re: What should I ask?
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2010, 12:56:34 »
You have no doubt thought about various things by your comments,Make a list of questions you want to ask.

If its a proper run site they should give you a copy of the rules and regulations for the site.

Best of luck with your new aquisition  :)
You can pick your friends, and you can pick your nose, but you can't pick your friends nose

chriscross1966

• Hectare
  • Visionhairy
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2010, 13:38:26 »
What's the water, if it's taps but no hoses or troughs then how far away is the nearest one from the plot. Weedkiller policy, is there a toilet, is there a seed-buying scheme, do they get a common manure/compost/leaf-mould delivery