Author Topic: Potatoless Potatoes!  (Read 5473 times)

hazelize_uk

• Half Acre
  • Northampton
Potatoless Potatoes!
« on: June 13, 2010, 12:16:49 »
We have what look like beautifully lush green potato plants some that are starting to flower, so we thought we'd have a little look to see if any of the news were ready for today's dinner  :)

We started by having a little peek, but found nothing so ended up digging right down under the plant, and found a big fat ZERO!! not even the tiniest of attempts at a potato.  How can they look so healthy and not have any spuds at all?

We are racking our brains wondering what we could have done wrong?  Under fed them, Over fed them, Over watered them, Under watered them??

Anyone got any ideas whether its something we can rescue? We have a 3rd of the plot for spuds and are really disappointed  ???

Sally A

• Half Acre
Re: Potatoless Potatoes!
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2010, 12:29:40 »
My guess, and only a guess as I'm not a spud expert - just lucky, is too much manure or similar which encourage leaf growth rather than spuds.

Which variety?, and when did you plant them? Has the weather been very dry?

hazelize_uk

• Half Acre
  • Northampton
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2010, 13:15:49 »
The variety is international kidney planted 19th March and it has been pretty dry but we have watered regularly.  We did dig in manure to the beds but thats pretty standard for spuds isnt it thought they were hungry?  Also had a helping of growmore on the top of the rows after planting and again a few weeks ago

Sally A

• Half Acre
« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2010, 13:46:47 »
No idea  ??? ??? I'd have thought there would be some sign of spuds by now.  Your real dilemma is, do you now dig along to another plant.  Have you dug out well around the plant, rather than directly under the main stem just in case the tubers have spread out?? If so, and still no joy, that is unlucky  :(

Tattieman

• Half Acre
    • www.jbaseedpotatoes.co.uk