Author Topic: £25/pole rent  (Read 36287 times)

Unwashed

• Hectare
  • Vexatious, moi?
    • Simon on Facebook
£25/pole rent
« on: January 05, 2010, 23:31:17 »
My council votes on Monday on a proposal to set the rent for new tenants at £25/pole.  It's currently £4.71.  They have 300 odd allotmenteers on six sites, with 100 on the waiting list.  Our sites are managed directly by the council and they spend about £60k, mainly on administration, but only get around £12k in rent so they say it's only fair we pay our way.  But I can't help feel that it'll kill the allotment movement in Newbury if they vote it through.  I've been campaigning for a couple of years to allow tenants to get involved in the maintenance and administration and we've now got an effective society going, though the council has been hostile to our formation and is only now talking about working with us, so it's a sensitive time and I'm not sure what to do for the best.  I don't particularly want to go self-managed because I don't particularly want to see the allotment staff at the council made redundent, but if the alternative is £25/pole and the decline of allotmenteering in Newbury I choose the allotment.  I'd really rather they hadn't come up with this stupid idea because it doesn't help at all.
An Agreement of the People for a firm and present peace upon grounds of common right

elvis2003

• Hectare
Re: £25/pole rent
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2010, 00:09:19 »
hi unwashed,just my quick thoughts as im up very early tmrw to take OH to his op the other side of town,which has effectievely shut down in the snow,so ill come back with more tmrw evening.my first thought is not to worry about the council staff having  jobs,they will be shifted to another dept,im sure
when the going gets tough,the tough go digging

Digeroo

• Hectare
  • Cotswolds - Gravel - Alkaline
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2010, 00:48:34 »