Author Topic: Liquid Feed for Onions  (Read 19028 times)

powerspade

• Hectare
Liquid Feed for Onions
« on: June 14, 2009, 19:21:31 »
I have a excellent crop of onions growing , What liquid feed would be best to keep them going. I usually use Comfrey but forgot to make some ready for this year. Would tomato feed work ? The reason I ask is that they need a potash feed which tomato feed would give.

PurpleHeather

• Hectare
Re: Liquid Feed for Onions
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2009, 21:13:32 »
I noticed that no one had made a reply so thought I would add a two pennorth.

To promote the growth of onions, which are bulbs. To start with, they are better off in, shall we say soil which is not rich. Rich soil encourages top growth.

We want bulb growth.

Once the onions have started to get actively growing is the time to feed.

I am not an expert in all this scientific data, just a grower who observes, finds out and shares.

Any plant, tomato food or organic feed like comfrey helps and/but if it is dry water, water,water or they go to seed.

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2009, 21:42:28 »
I don't dispute what Purple Heather has to say on the subject i.e they want 'potash' feeding from when the bulbs commence to swell, so yes tomato feed will fit the bill.

But regarding the watering I am undecided about this for the following reason/s;

I have noticed in recent years ( the climate change years) we have been getting a lot of white rot and potato blight both of which have a 'watering' connection.

I never water my potatoes but sometimes water my onions and from time to time I have had blight & white rot.

So I have been studying this and noticed the following;

In wet cool years my potatoes are generally OK but in wet warm years I sometimes get blight.

My conclusion to this is 'humidity' is synonymous with dampness so this is why I don't water my potatoes!