Author Topic: what can I plant now?  (Read 1988 times)

gardening jan

• Not So New ...
what can I plant now?
« on: November 29, 2008, 22:55:51 »
just got a 5 rod allotment and I'm so excited i can hardly contain myself!  It's in really good condition looking at some of the other plots that were available. Dug over a bed today and the soil looks fantastic I can hardly believe my luck. I'm a complete beginner, but have tons of enthusiasm and cant wait to get planting! But not sure what I can plant at this time apart from broad beans, that are going in tomorrow and garlic that I ve just ordered, any ideas?

ceres

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
Re: what can I plant now?
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2008, 00:03:07 »
Hi Jan, welcome to A4A, lots of good info and experts here!  Congrats on your new plot, sounds like you got lucky there.

What part of the country are you in?  If you're down south, you might just get away with overwintering broad beans, peas, garlic, onions, shallots (if you can still find any in the shops/online) although it is getting a bit late.

Winter is the best time if you want to plant any fruit trees and bushes while they are dormant.

If you don't have much clearing to do, it's a great time for building shed/compost bins/cold frames/raised beds etc. etc if you're going to have them set up for the growing season when you won't have time!

And you need to get your orders sorted for seeds, sets, seed potatoes etc. so lots of drooling over seed catalogues when the weather's too miserable for anything else!

thegreatgardener

• Acre
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2008, 02:10:33 »
lettuce is your best bet at this point if have row cover.
I suggest black seed Simpson I have it survive 3 inches of snow in the open
several times.

spinach is also another good choice.
« Last Edit: November 30, 2008, 02:15:01 by thegreatgardener »

gardening jan

• Not So New ...
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2008, 10:26:04 »