Author Topic: Mild varieties?  (Read 4593 times)

fluffygrue

• Acre
Mild varieties?
« on: November 04, 2008, 09:39:16 »
This isn't something I've seen discussed much anywhere.. but what do people consider the mildest chilli? I'd quite like to grow some that I can use abundantly in cooking.

Ta for any advice :)

Fork

• Hectare
  • Amber valley,Derbyshire
Re: Mild varieties?
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2008, 09:44:12 »
Why use mild chillies abundantly when you could use a hotter variety sparingly?

Im not a chilli expert but if you remove the seeds and the white "pith" inside then the majority of the heat will have gone anyway.

Sits back and waits to be corrected  ;D
You can pick your friends, and you can pick your nose, but you can't pick your friends nose

fluffygrue

• Acre
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2008, 09:50:02 »

Im not a chilli expert but if you remove the seeds and the white "pith" inside then the majority of the heat will have gone anyway.

A lot of the heat is in the seeds, yes.. but you're still not answering my question. :P

Fork

• Hectare
  • Amber valley,Derbyshire
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2008, 09:55:21 »

A lot of the heat is in the seeds, yes.. but you're still not answering my question. :P

I said Im not an expert......someone will be along quite soon Im sure  ;D
You can pick your friends, and you can pick your nose, but you can't pick your friends nose

Barnowl

• Hectare
  • getting back to my roots [SW London]
« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2008, 11:11:12 »
Milder chillies often have interesting flavours which aren't obscured by loads of scoville units. However to use a lot of them they would have to be almost without any heat.

Pepperoncini / Friarello which are usually fried and eaten whole, verge on being sweet peppers especially the latter

You might find Chilli Pimiento Padron suits..

http://www.seedsofitaly.com/catalogue/14