Author Topic: how long do brussel sprouts take to develop?  (Read 2516 times)

anthea

• Not So New ...
how long do brussel sprouts take to develop?
« on: October 23, 2008, 15:30:56 »
This is my first year of growing brussel sprouts, but as it turns out, I'm going to be away from Nov until mid Jan.  My sprout plants are just starting to show tiny little signs of sprouts, but I planted them very late (they're supposed to produce Oct - Dec but didn't go into the ground until mid July).

Can anyone tell me, how long do the sprouts take to get from tiny to overgrown? And what's the likelihood of them producing decent sprouts with no attention at all from now onwards?

I don't think anyone will pick them while I'm away.  If the sprouts will last on the plants until mid Jan I could leave them as they are, but I've read that sprouts need lots of care, and if they're likely to get attacked by insects and/or get club root (though I don't know how I'd know if I'd got it), and if the sprouts will be well past it by mid Jan, perhaps I should pull them up now and avoid whatever problems they might bring?

kt.

• Hectare
  • Teesside
Re: how long do brussel sprouts take to develop?
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2008, 16:11:59 »
Do not pull them up as there is no need.  Leave them in the ground and you should still get a decent size sprout.  Ensure you stake the plants to avoid damage in bad weather.  They will be fine until Jan when you return and do not worry too much about insects etc eating them over the winter.  Most will not be around due to the colder temperatures.  Some people put netting over the tops of the plants to protect from birds but I have never bothered and always had a decent crop..... so far ::)   
All you do and all you see is all your life will ever be

anthea

• Not So New ...
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2008, 19:26:41 »
Thanks, that's very encouraging.

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2008, 21:18:12 »