Author Topic: garlic  (Read 4464 times)

gowdin

• Not So New ...
garlic
« on: July 03, 2008, 11:00:30 »
i have been growing garlic for the past few yearsand have up to now been able to rotate my crop round the veg plot but now i want to increase my production and therefore i would lile to know if i can grow garlic on the same patch of ground this year as i did last year
any replies on the pros and cons would be appreciated
cheers

tim

• Hectare
  • Just like the old days!
Re: garlic
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2008, 11:42:47 »
NO WAY!!

The Allium rotation is the most vital of all - like 9 years!!

vegmandan

• Half Acre
    • My Allotment Diary
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2008, 12:25:53 »
I've been growing onions in the same bed for the last 10 years .

As long as you don't get any diseases in the previous years then this is fine,lots of exhibition onion growers do this to get an increasingly fertile bed year upon year.

I can't see why garlic would be any different but like I say only if you don't get any diseases in the preceeding years.

-------------------------------------------
I will grow a 10lb Onion if it kills me !
-------------------------------------------

gowdin

• Not So New ...
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2008, 12:55:01 »
well thanks both of you for the replies
still no nearer to making my mind up
but the idea of growing on in non diseased ground is appealing
if there are any more thoughts i would love to hear them
cheers

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2008, 15:53:29 »
I'm with Vegmandan although I can appreciate Tims reasons.

Barnowl

• Hectare
  • getting back to my roots [SW London]
« Reply #5 on: July 03, 2008, 16:04:05 »
The problem with allium diseases is that they persist in the soil for years.  Also, if you don't sterilize your tools after digging diseased ground, it is probable that you will spread the disease around your plot rendering it all unusable.