Author Topic: making a pumpkin  (Read 3716 times)

rdak

making a pumpkin
« on: August 05, 2004, 11:21:39 »
my pumpkin plant has got one fruit developing and I want it to be a monster (for a competition)- should I remove the other flowers?

GardnerJ

• Acre
  • Oh my God I have Allot-Mania!
Re:making a pumpkin
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2004, 11:49:11 »
i'm not an expert but yes i think i have read somewhere that you have to remover everything else so all the energy goes into the one fruit? I also think you have to feed it lots aswell?
Jemma  ::)

derbex

• Hectare
  • I've come about the reaping
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2004, 11:54:08 »
And water I believe -6 galls/week.

I have let mine run -they're all going bright orange now, will they continue to grow?

Jeremy

Sarah-b

• Acre
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2004, 12:17:37 »
Be careful though - I had 2 tiny pumpkins on one of my plants and one sort of rotted, or got attacked by woodlice and slugs (was hard to tell which had happened first) - then I was glad I hadn't restricted the plant to just one fruit.
The remaining fruit is only about 10com in diameter - is there time for it to get big before halowe'en?

Sarah

rdak

« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2004, 12:51:08 »
my (pumpkin  :P ) is only about 3cm in diameter- was hoping I still had time before Halowe'en, but have seen some on the allotment the size of beach balls.
should I only remove flowers, or do I need to lop off tendrils and shoots?

Doris_Pinks

• Hectare
« Reply #5 on: August 05, 2004, 13:51:00 »
Ross I have pinched the growing shoot out of mine, because I have 2 fruits on it, but only do this if you know your fruit is growing well. pumpkins grow at an amazing daily rate, my book says that a well fed and watered pumpkin can put on as much as 2lb (1kg) per day! :o