Author Topic: Blight  (Read 4112 times)

isbister

• Half Acre
  • Middlesex
Blight
« on: May 28, 2008, 14:46:43 »
Just had an alert from Blightwatch for a Full Smith Period in my area (Surrey/Middlesex) gets earlier every year!

gonz

• Quarter Acre
Re: Blight
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2008, 14:56:58 »
As a newbie, I have heard alot about blight, but dont know anything about it.  Can someone please let me know what to look for and when it is likely as the above post has said 'it gets earlier each year'.  Also what spreads it.  Ta .

redimp

• Hectare
  • Colonia Domitiana Lindensium, Flavia Caesariensis
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2008, 14:58:25 »
http://www.blightwatch.co.uk/content/bw-Home.asp
http://www.potato.org.uk/blight
For a start.
Google potato blight or late blight for the rest.  Look up early blight too as it is best to be able to tell them apart etc.
Lotty @ Lincoln (Lat:53.24, Long:-0.52, HASL:30m)

http://www.abicabeauty

Tin Shed

• Hectare
  • South Essex
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2008, 17:58:24 »
Yup, just had one for Southend as well - I wonder why I bother with toms sometimes

Sinbad7

• Hectare
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2008, 18:15:16 »
Oh noooooooooo, what are they saying for Surrey and Southend?

Sinbad

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2008, 20:19:29 »
It was certainly warm and wet enough here last night!  :o

realfood

• Hectare
    • Grow Your Own Fruit and Vegetables
« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2008, 20:43:44 »