Author Topic: what size to make my beds?  (Read 1346 times)

Crystalmoon

• Hectare
what size to make my beds?
« on: April 01, 2008, 19:03:30 »
Hiya, me again with another newbie question  ;)
In one area of my plot I cant decide whether to make 10 or 12 small beds of about 3 metres by 1m or to go for 4 very long beds of about 6metres by 1.5metres. I cant reach across more than about 1.5 metres comfortably so cant really make them any wider than this.

I plan to grow small amounts of alot of different things as this is my first year & everything is an experiment  ;D

What do you think would be the better layout?

grawrc

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Edinburgh
Re: what size to make my beds?
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2008, 19:06:29 »
probably better with shorter beds as, if you have to keep walking the full length of the long ones to get to the other side/ next bed, it can become very tedious.

Crystalmoon

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2008, 19:13:16 »
Thanks thats a really good point. I hadnt even considered the walking around the large beds aspect of things....see im such a newbie  ::)

AndrewB

• Half Acre
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2008, 19:15:11 »
I agree its really irritating having to walk round.  Also make sure you can kneel down between them, space between them should be about the length between your knee and foot

real food

• Acre
    • Growing Your Own fruit and Vegetables
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2008, 19:16:53 »
I would always go with the bigger size, so much easier to work. Have a look around allotments and you will see that the experienced plotters go for really big beds. The new plotters go for tiny beds and waste so much space on paths.
See the quick guide to Growing, Storing, and the Healthy Cooking, of your own Fruit and Vegetables at www.growingyourown.info

Crystalmoon

• Hectare
« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2008, 19:22:41 »