Author Topic: Allotment rules  (Read 4530 times)

caseylee

• Hectare
Allotment rules
« on: February 25, 2008, 18:56:44 »
I am new to the allotment scene and one my site there is only three sites that have been used.  There are large blackberry bushes that sractch my car when you drive in, there is litter everye where form where the dogs have opened balck bag, and the bad wind we had has blown them on the site.  The paths along the middle of all the sites needs to be mowed and sorted out, and we have no protection around the individual sites, and you can barley tell where mine begins and ends.  What can I do about this, the site has been kept in poor condition, and doesn't look good when you walk in.  Me and my otherhalf cleaned our site and mowed the grass, but the paths are not surely for me to do are they, and the black berry bushes surrounding the whole site.

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
Re: Allotment rules
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2008, 19:15:45 »
leave as many brambles as you can around the outside it discourages unwelcome visitors...
Our rules say you are responsible for the path /s outside your plot but we have stoned them and do them communally. What you really need is a good advertising campagn to get some more eager plot holders to get the site going...
  ;D

morton

• Half Acre
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2008, 19:25:45 »
What do the other two allotment holders have to say on the subject.

On our site there are a few of us that keep everything neat and tidy whilst the rest would let it slide into disrepair. We do all the communal jobs over the winter whilst its quiet on the garden. We drag out ditches, cut back hedges, chop down trees, stone paths, put up greenhouses and sheds, fetch manure etc. etc. This includes fetching bricks and rubble from anyone we see doing house repairs etc.
Its a labour of love for the few of us that go down just about every single day of the year.