Author Topic: Totally new to this  (Read 980 times)

Heatherc

Totally new to this
« on: February 11, 2008, 23:08:23 »
Hello all.

Im Heather and im very new to this.  I have just got my first ever allotment and Im very excited but totally confused where to start.

The allotment looks in very good shape, to me anyways.  The plot area is about 9m2, totally flat and although it needs dug over its weed free.

I have 2 small children and work full time so I dont want to bite of more than I can chew so any suggested would be very much welcome.

Where do I start?  how do I get the ground ready? And what do I do after that?  I was thinking I would put some small raised areas in just because it was be easier for me to handle and give me a good start.  Could i use railway sleepers to do this? 

Please be gentle with me, I am the first person in my village to get one of these allotments and there is another 5 to be handed out so i havent really got anyone else to help.   ???

betula

• Hectare
Re: Totally new to this
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2008, 23:36:38 »
Hello Heatherc,
hope you enjoy your new allotment.I started out by making a simple plan eg
where would I put beds,how big,pathways shed, seating area etc.Also useful to note where the shade is at different times of day.As you have children a small grass/play area may be useful.
Railway sleepers are great but can be expensive.Also dont forget your compost heap,and water butt.

Jeannine

• Hectare
  • Mapleridge BC Canada
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2008, 00:14:58 »
Hi Heather. 1st, it is for you and your family to enjoy so get too worried, It sounds as though it is a good site. Perhaps cover some of it to prevent weeds growing while you start in a smaller area, take it slow, especially digging if you are not used to it. You will have it a long time so take it one step at a time and only go the pace you are enjoying.