Author Topic: Broad Beans arn't very happy  (Read 5415 times)

Magnolia

• Half Acre
Broad Beans arn't very happy
« on: December 13, 2007, 16:08:04 »
Hi, I'm new to all this.  I planted broad beans mid october.  They grew to about 18inches under a mini plastic greenhouse.   And seemed to be doing quite well until a particularly bad frost last night.

They're now limp and have fallen over.  What happened?

I have some more planted later in November that are under a mini polytunnel but are getting too big for this - any ideas on how I can prevent them from suffering the same fate as the previous beans.

I have some more that were sown even later under fleece and they've only just started to poke through the soil.  I'm hoping these wil be ok too.
Advice appreciated.
Jane

star

• Hectare
  • Northampton, sm greenhouse, heated propagator
Re: Broad Beans arn't very happy
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2007, 16:13:39 »
The last two mornings I have seen my broad beans collapsed and wilted too. But they are pretty hardy, as soon as the sun came out they perked up.

I have no protection on mine at all. I think its probably better not to protect them, but because you have started you may need to continue. Maybe once the tallest ones have thawed out you could stake them up?

I was born with nothing and have most of it left.

djbrenton

• Hectare
  • I love Allotments4All
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2007, 16:38:00 »
You should be aware that not all varieties are suitable for over-wintering. Those that are don't need protection. Those that aren't will suffer.

adrianhumph

• Acre
  • Camberley, Surrey.
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2007, 16:40:06 »
 Hi magnolia,  :D
                         Your broad beans have been cosseted tooooo much by you ::) Assuming you have sown aquadulce claudia or another suitable overwintering broad bean,