Author Topic: How Disheartened Are You  (Read 3961 times)

sawfish

• Hectare
  • glasgow dreamer
Re: How Disheartened Are You
« Reply #20 on: July 22, 2007, 22:18:23 »
I'm not disheartened at all, when things dont work it just gives me something to think about for the next year.

Imagine if growing stuff was like this....

you put one seed in the ground and it grows exactly in its place to the right size,
you never ever get weeds,
nothing is ever diseased,
its always the same weather every year

.... whats the point, I wouldn't bother.

For me its the challenge of gardening thats interesting not the success and thats probably true of almost everybody.
« Last Edit: July 22, 2007, 22:20:26 by sawfish »

electric landlady

• Half Acre
  • digging, digging, digging (in Nottingham)
« Reply #21 on: July 23, 2007, 13:25:48 »
Not disheartened at all; this is my first year so everything I've managed to grow has been a bonus. OK the onions look a bit pathetic, tomatoes are a goner and all the brassicas got eaten...but it's all good experience.

On the plus side, carrots, peas and blackcurrants are amazing, and it looks as though the beans will be good too.

I am mainly frustrated by the lack of opportunity to get down there....every free evening/weekend seems to coincide with a monsoon. This means that unfortunately my plot does not exactly resemble the lovely neat, sundrenched, weedfree pictures in my books...ah well....next year....  8) 

Jeannine

• Hectare
  • Mapleridge BC Canada
« Reply #22 on: July 23, 2007, 13:33:30 »
The ginger I grow is just the supermarket ginger that is used in cooking,I ma sorry I don't know the lily XX Jeannine
When God blesses you with a multitude of seeds double  the blessing by sharing your  seeds with other folks.

Larkspur

• Acre
« Reply #23 on: July 23, 2007, 14:09:34 »