Author Topic: Slug Pellets & Contamination  (Read 15433 times)

Sigsy

• Not So New ...
  • South Shields Sand Dancer
Slug Pellets & Contamination
« on: June 08, 2007, 14:31:33 »
Is it safe to use slug pellets at the base of Toms and Cucumbers?

This might sound a bit silly, but I'm totally clueless about this and it is a concern,
but the pellets I'm using are the blue ones and i was planting to sprinkle them around the base of my plants.

Is there a risk of contamination for the plants and fruits if i'm watering over them, ie will the harmful stuff soak down into the soil and be taken in by the roots of the plant?

I know I shouldn't really use them but this is my first time growing everything and I want to learn about growing the plants first before I look at the other practises involved.

davyw1

• Hectare
  • I love My Country
Re: Slug Pellets & Contamination
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2007, 14:52:10 »
DO NOT put your slug pellets on the soil or any where that your tomato stands in. the tomato will drink up whatever flavor or fluid  you give it
When you wake up on a morning say "good morning world" and be grateful

DAVY

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2007, 16:07:05 »
Im over twenty years I can't ever recall slugs/snails ever going near my Tomatoes & Cucumbers so have never been in this position.

Perhaps someone can tell me ........do they ever do?

Melbourne12

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Harrow, Middx
    • Allotmenteering Blog
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2007, 16:13:30 »
I'm on a mission today.   ;D ;D ;D ;D