Author Topic: rotivating yes or no?  (Read 4889 times)

scottcara

• Not So New ...
rotivating yes or no?
« on: May 25, 2007, 16:29:38 »
Hi all. I'm a beginner and I'm very puzzled to weather or not to rotivate my new plot witch is over grown at the minute. its approx 300sq m and hasn't been worked for some time.

My idea was to start by strimming it down then rotivating it all before covering with plastic sheeting for the time being while i get my plot set out, build shed etc.

Could anyone shed any light on this subject or offer any advice.

many thanks scott.

tim

• Hectare
  • Just like the old days!
Re: rotivating yes or no?
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2007, 16:49:04 »
I'm prejudiced, so better start by doing a SEARCH (in the toolbar above) for rotovating.

Enough to keep you busy for a few minutes!!
« Last Edit: May 25, 2007, 17:47:55 by tim »

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2007, 17:18:08 »
We prefer the fork method...
 :-\

kt.

• Hectare
  • Teesside
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2007, 18:09:49 »
Do it by hand or you will make 10x more work for yourself. If you rotovate then you chop all the weeds into hundreds of little pieces then each little piece of the hundred become a weed. Voila: 100 times more weeds to remove than before you started. Yes it looks good after rotovation because the ground looks cleared quickly - but it sharp fills with more weeds quicker too.
All you do and all you see is all your life will ever be

tim

• Hectare
  • Just like the old days!
« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2007, 19:51:23 »
As I said, I'm prejudiced.

1. Any digging will bring up the weed seeds of generations.

2. It is said that, if you don't allow couch to grow more than 4" before chopping it, it will disappear.

3. I could not have coped with our first bit - given that, for 14 years, I had 1 1/2 days a week at home - without a rotovator.