Author Topic: Building a coldframe  (Read 1169 times)

Deva Duke

• Not So New ...
Building a coldframe
« on: May 24, 2007, 21:36:57 »
Hi there! I’m about to make a Coldframe from scratch. I’ve manage to get hold of some concrete blocks and two DG windows; I should be OK with the building of it. However, Q1. What does the frame sit on? Is it best on soil, concrete, brick, wood? Q2. How big should it be? I know the size of the DG windows ‘100 x 60 cm’ will determine the actual size but, is this to big / small and what height I’m I looking at.  Any info would be most appreciated. Thanks DD.

scottcara

• Not So New ...
Re: Building a coldframe
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2007, 13:16:13 »
Hi there I'm a beginner to all this and not quite sure what a cold frame is, but i am a builder by trade so if you could give me a brief explanation of one then hopefully i could be of some help regarding the base etc. Scott

Suzanne

• Hectare
  • sun is shining
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2007, 13:54:04 »
I have two coldframes. Both are about 1.2 metre long by 50 cm wide, 45 cm depth at the back and 30 cm depth at the front ( 4ft long, 2ftish wide, 18inches back height and 12 inches front height).

They are both portable and glass and aluminium. I got them cheap (£1 for the first from a council rubbish site and £15 for the second sold as new from someone who had given up gardening)