Author Topic: Preparing the land!  (Read 1793 times)

hippychik

• Not So New ...
Preparing the land!
« on: April 02, 2007, 15:10:45 »
I am new to the allotment game and need some advice on getting the soil into a nice loose way so I can start planting. Rotavated in in late jan, then dug over with fork to try and break up large clumps, weeded at bit and then planted potatoes and broad beans last month. Weeds are growing so not sure which are weeds or tops of seeds! Should I have prepared my soil more? Will the seeds push through the large dry clumps? Want to get planting more stuff now warm but looked at my dry hard clumpy soil and wanted to cry! What tools etc and how do i get my soil nice so I can have loose fine soil?
Help please as feel like giving up already when everyone has been at it for years and I am a young novice! :(

triffid

• Hectare
  • Escaped... usually to my plot in NW London :)
Re: Preparing the land!
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2007, 15:19:57 »
Don't give up!
Your spuds will be fine: they're tough enough to elbow their way out of lumpy soil --in fact, planting spuds is a textbook way of breaking up soil.

The broad beans... well, they'd benefit from a bit of weeding. Alas, I haven't a close up picture of what broad beans look like, but if you planted your seed in rows, they should show up fairly clearly against a general hotchpotch of weeds.

About the rest of the soil. What will help it most is some good organic stuff. Compost, or rotted-down manure; mulches of grass clippings; anything that worms will pull down into the soil and feed on.  Cover the soil if you're worried about it drying out; I'm sure it's only dry on the surface. Squiggle a fork into it; you'll probably find it's nice and damp an inch or two down.

Tell us what you want to plant next and we'll give you what help we can. It's easier if you can be a bit more specific, as plants all have their own needs.