Author Topic: Help a newbee  (Read 4624 times)

Simba42

• Half Acre
    • Jen's Allotment
Help a newbee
« on: February 22, 2007, 09:33:25 »
Hi all..

I have just secured my partner for her birthday an allotment. But I need help in what to do/buy.

The allotment is very over grown. What the best way of clearing the grass/weeds. Do I just turn it over? Should I hire a rotervater for the day?
What tools are required and what brands are worth buying?
Where is the best place to buy seeds? On the web?
What seeds are good for first time growers?

Any help anyone can give is most appreciated as I am a total beginner to this..

ruffmeister

• Acre
    • Our Lottie blog site
Re: Help a newbee
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2007, 10:34:35 »
hi there, i would definitley reccommend rotorvators, some people dont like it, just to give you an indication of what can be done in a year please visit my site soon to have a large hints and tips page www.lottieblogs.co.uk then visit the 2006 page.

Rotavtors are a great way but try to pick all the roots of weeds as you go else you can just rip them up into the soil.

OliveOil

• Hectare
  • Lincs
    • Phoenix Traders Forum
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2007, 10:56:29 »
I too would say rotovator.  And buy decent tools, it really does make a big difference.  I think my tools cost on average £25 each so I would say that is the minimum you want to spend the £5 jobbies from wilkos will not do!

Also get her some seeds so that she has something to look forward to sowing and planting. and a good lotty book too will inspire you both.

Good luck -

Simba42

• Half Acre
    • Jen's Allotment
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2007, 11:22:34 »
I have a couple of books coming from Amazon. I will have a good read of them first.

Ruffmeister, your plot looks about same size, do you have an aerial plan of roughly where you put what in your first year? showing what grew next to what?

OliveOil, do you recommend any brands over the next??

norfolklass

• Hectare