Author Topic: Best basics planting to start with?  (Read 2120 times)

NewUser

• Not So New ...
Best basics planting to start with?
« on: February 07, 2007, 09:47:58 »
Hi all

I am quite new to this site and VERY new to allotments.  All we have done before is salad leaves and tomatoes, spring onion and peas in the back garden! With mixed success but mostly due to over zealous planting by young child helpers!

Are there any basic things I can start with that will yield good rewards!

Is there anywhere (on this site or elsewhere) I can find an idiots guide to what to plant when and where?
Many thanks for all advice! Am very excited but a complete novice!
Cheers!

Barnowl

• Hectare
  • getting back to my roots [SW London]
Re: Best basics planting to start with?
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2007, 10:46:46 »
We started last year and I reckon runner beans were the most satisfying - provided you like them, that is :)

Also, since they're vertical, you can get quite a crop from a restricted space.

okra

• Hectare
  • Grow your own its much safer
    • Cyprus Gardener
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2007, 12:16:16 »
potatoes are a good starting point, as the soil does not have to be too clear of weeds to get a decent crop
Grow your own its much safer - http://www.cyprusgardener.co.uk
http://cyprusgardener.blogspot.co.uk
Author of Olives, Lemons and Grapes (ISBN-13: 978-3841771131)

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2007, 13:28:37 »
Most salad crops, lettuce, radish, spring onions to name but a few and there is also dwarf french beans!

Let the kids have a look at these pictures http://tinyurl.com/y72ret it might save a lot of explaining as to what to expect.

Plus if you look at the seed sowing and pricking out links this might help as well.

Seed sowing link; http://tinyurl.com/yy5xkl

Pricking out link; http://tinyurl.com/2z32f8

Click on the pictures to enlarge them.