Author Topic: mystery roots  (Read 13851 times)

norfolklass

• Hectare
  • Norwich - a fine city
mystery roots
« on: January 30, 2007, 15:08:16 »
I haven't actually seen any of this with a growing above ground bit attached, but some areas of my plot are riddled with these roots. they vary from just under the surface to a good spit down, but I've got no idea what they are or whether they're good or bad. does anyone recognise them? they snap very easily and are very slightly yellowy coloured. obviously, I'm hoping it's not something too nasty!

urbandruid

• Not So New ...
  • It's all about the light...
Re: mystery roots
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2007, 15:11:03 »
I'm no expert, but they look like the fine tree roots that infest one of my beds.  Harmless but annoying.  Is there a tree (especially a sycamore) growing nearby?

Steve.
Peruse my allotment diaries here!

norfolklass

• Hectare
  • Norwich - a fine city
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2007, 15:39:27 »
no, no trees nearby. and I can't figure out what they're attached to: when I pull them out of the soil they either snap or come out whole but they're quite soft (the really fine roots you can see in the pic aren't part of the mystery roots).
they're not quite as wide as a pencil, about just over half the width, and a little bit knobbly, makes me think of unravelled knitting. the worst patch I've found so far is in an area that used to have a great big pile of sheep muck and leaf mould on it.

supersprout

• Hectare
  • mulch mad!
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2007, 15:41:05 »
Ivy?

dandelion

• Hectare
    • An Vrombaut
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2007, 15:41:42 »
Looks suspiciously like bindweed  :(. Is that a heart shaped leaf on the top left?

Deb P

• Hectare
  • Still digging it....
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2007, 15:43:15 »
I agree, looks like bindweed to me ...vile >:( stuff, will regrow from the tiniest bit of root.....