Author Topic: I want bees!  (Read 16438 times)

emmy1978

• Hectare
  • It's good to be in my gardening shoes again!
I want bees!
« on: January 15, 2007, 11:05:32 »
Although I am brand new to lottie life and my lottie needs lots of work to even have one little bed this year, I have found out we are allowed bees on our site. I would really love this as my grandparents neighbours kept bees and their honey was just superb. Does anyone have any experience of beekeeping, what are thoughts on it and how would I go about getting them (lie in wait by flowers and beenap them)
I saw Hugh Fearnley Whittingstall programme where beeman ( official title)  ???caught him a swarm and delivered them, is this the usual way? Ideas on cost etc. Thanks!! :)
Don't throw paper away. There is no away.

triffid

• Hectare
  • Escaped... usually to my plot in NW London :)
Re: I want bees!
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2007, 11:14:29 »
Hi emmy,

Yes, there's a few of us beekeepers on A4A, as you might have guessed.  ;D

I looked up your local association of beekeepers on the BBKA website: there's one in Bournemouth. 

BOURNEMOUTH & DISTRICT
Mrs Angela Flint, Flat 18 Portadene, 6 Portarlington Road, Bournemouth, BH4 8BT 01202-469310

If they're anything like our lot, they'll running courses for beginners. Like many associations, we do our beginners' course at the start of the season (Feb/March) so that by the time everyone's finished, it's mild enough to bring them to the association apiary to look at some real bees in action.

Re getting your own bees. Your local association may do what ours does: collect swarms as a public service (many BKAs work with their local councils) and then pass them on to beginner beekeepers. That's the way most peeps start.

Beware, though: bees are addictive.
And you probably wouldn't really want them on a lottie plot which you're cultivating (you'll end up disturbing each other  ;))