Author Topic: parsnips  (Read 5667 times)

artichoke

• Hectare
Re: parsnips
« Reply #20 on: January 14, 2007, 17:46:40 »
I pre-germinate mine in the airing cupboard in damp cloth inside a plastic bag. But you have to move them on into soil pretty quickly or the baby tap roots snaps off.

kitten

• Hectare
  • Lincolnshire
« Reply #21 on: January 14, 2007, 18:01:26 »
Once they have tiny shoots on, do you plant them with the shoot up or down? I know this is a silly question, but i've never done it before!  ::) x
Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
« Reply #22 on: January 14, 2007, 18:09:35 »
Dunno but after last year's disaster I want to know too!
 :-\

cornykev

• Hectare
  • Sunny Cheshunt just outside North London
« Reply #23 on: January 15, 2007, 14:37:57 »
Cropped some Parsnips yesterday but gave them away to another lottie who has helped me a lot over the last year or so, I've got so many I don't know what to do with them, bit of a pain really.     ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D :-*
MAY THE CORN BE WITH YOU.

theothermarg

• Hectare
  • Yate near Bristol UK
« Reply #24 on: January 15, 2007, 15:58:45 »
when i tried the pre-growing methods they were fine until planted out then something ate um  :( :( the holes filled with compost seems good last year i just kept resowing until the row was filled alright in the end more by luck than anything
Tell me and I,ll forget
Show me and I might remember
Involve me and I,ll understand

HO

• Not So New ...
« Reply #25 on: January 15, 2007, 16:53:28 »