Author Topic: Melon care  (Read 1281 times)

vaca

• Half Acre
Melon care
« on: July 19, 2006, 14:00:47 »
Hi again,

Here I go with yet another question... first time growing melons/watermelons and several fruits have set and are growing nicely. Question is... do they require or would they benefit from a feeding of some sort? if so which type? would a seaweed based fertiliser do them good?

and on another note... do I need to protect them from any pests or care for them in any special way?

as always - many thanks for all the help.

vaca

dandelion

• Hectare
    • An Vrombaut
Re: Melon care
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2006, 14:08:21 »
Just out of interest vaca, are you growing these under glass or outdoors? Am thinking of trying melons next year, but don't have a greenhouse.

Tinkie_Bear

• Acre
  • D'oh !!
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2006, 14:12:29 »
I am not an expert but am treating my melons like my squashes (just in the greenhouse not outdoors) they are apparently thirsty and greedy so mine get plenty of water and tomato food when I remember ;)

Mine have not been attacked by anything but maybe I am just lucky.

When the melons get bigger it helps to support them in some way - netting / stockings etc.

I saw a  thing where Bob Flowerdew said melons like a bit of shade - who am I to argue.

Good luck with your crop.

Tinkie-Bear

sweet-pea

• Hectare
  • Wisley
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2006, 14:33:33 »
I'm growing melons for the first time too, in one of those plastic walk in greenhouses. I spotted my first set watermelon starting to grow this morning :-)
Interesting to hear about the shading, that's probably why I've noticed the watermelon leaves getting a little scorched around the edges, although the other types done't seem to have been affected.  I shall try and put some fleece up tonight to try and shade them a little.