Author Topic: Aspidistra Help!  (Read 7748 times)

Trixiebelle

• Hectare
  • You looking at me? Huh?
Aspidistra Help!
« on: May 30, 2006, 14:41:35 »
I inherited an aspidistra plant (from my very much loved Uncle) last year.

It's in a pot about a foot square in the house. It's about 3ft wide and 2ft tall now and is dire need of re-potting, poor thing.

A couple of questions:

1. Would it be ok to put it outside when it's raining for a couple of hours or so? Just so it can get some fresh water on its leaves and save me having to dust it!

2. What sort of sized pot/compost would be best for it if I re-potted it?

3. Does it need feeding throughout the year with anything?

I'm not very good with houseplants. I can kill cacti and they manage to live in deserts 8)

Thank you in advance :)
The Devil Invented Dandelions!

David R

• Acre
Re: Aspidistra Help!
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2006, 15:17:56 »
I love these plants, do you know they are really expensive to buy as they take so long to grow - you just dont see them for sale any more. Garden centre near me had one once and I snapped it up, the salesman said they should sell them at about £1 per leaf.

Now, sounds like a repotting is in order, but what about splitting it in two or three- just cut the plant with a knife, sounds brutal but it will give it a chance to spread a bit. Pot into ordinary soil, but dont feed; they dont like too much feeding. I give mine cold tea only a few times a year and a bit of rose fertilizer in the summer and thats it.

Bit of a wipe now and then is a good idea and they are prone to spider mite. Honestly though, compared to cacti (which are easy to kill! - how much of a desert environment can you give in England) these are impossible to harm.

Trixiebelle

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2006, 15:41:54 »