Author Topic: Frost - are we in the clear?  (Read 3520 times)

Stork

• Quarter Acre
Frost - are we in the clear?
« on: May 08, 2006, 22:52:15 »
My greenhouse is full to bursting. I have just about everything you can imagine ready to go out. 

So - what can I plant now and what should I keep under cover for a couple of weeks?

My plot is in north London.

This is my first year with an allotment and it's becoming clear that I may have got everything going too soon in my enthusiasm.

Stork.
Have no fear of perfection. You will never reach it. (Salvador Dali)

Hyacinth

• Hectare
  • I love Allotments 4 All
Re: Frost - are we in the clear?
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2006, 23:02:30 »
praps Metcheck can give you some idea?

http://www.metcheck.com/V40/UK/HOME/

Regards, Lishka

Merry Tiller

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2006, 02:31:24 »
This is my first year with an allotment and it's becoming clear that I may have got everything going too soon in my enthusiasm.

Don't worry, everybody does it the first year. Just remember next spring, seeds don't have to be sown on the very earliest date shown on the packet.

Being in London you should be OK to plant most things out now but it's always a gamble. Brassicas will be fine if that helps

supersprout

• Hectare
  • mulch mad!
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2006, 07:56:33 »
I am longing to get my toms and squash out, but advice on the chat last night was to wait until night temp doesn't go below 8 degrees. So I will wait a couple of weeks >:( ::)

Merry Tiller

• Hectare
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2006, 07:59:29 »
Ambient temperature is much higher in London

supersprout

• Hectare
  • mulch mad!
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2006, 08:10:52 »
In Peterborough I get the cold wind whooshing over the fens MT  :P But I might sneak in a couple of beds of toms and cover them with mesh AND fleece, and just see what happens (have plenty spare). All part of the fun eh ;)

KMARKSnr

• Quarter Acre
  • I`m not "young enough" to know everything !